

STATES OF ALDERNEY

DELIBERATIONS FOR THE MEETING

ON WEDNESDAY 9TH JANUARY 2019 AT 17:30

Present: Mr Stuart Trought, President Mr Louis Jean Mr Steve Roberts Mr Graham McKinley Mr James Dent Mr Alex Snowdon Mr Mike Dean Mr Kevin Gentle Ms Annie Burgess Mr Christian Harris Mr David Earl

Lieutenant G T Workman RN (Rtd) represented His Excellency The Lieutenant-Governor of the Bailiwick of Guernsey.

No Apologies were received.

Item I Opening of the States of Alderney Annual Meeting

The Greffier opened the Annual January Meeting

The President then welcomed the new Members to the States of Alderney.

Item II Election Procedure

The States of Alderney resolved that the subsequent elections take place by verbal vote.

Approved by a majority FOR: Messrs Roberts, McKinley, Dent, Snowdon, Gentle, Harris, Earl and Ms Burgess AGAINST: Messrs Jean and Dean

Item III Election of Vice President

Mr Jean was elected Vice President for 2019.

Mr Jean was proposed by Mr Roberts Mr McKinley was proposed by Mr Dent

Approved by a majority FOR Mr Jean: Messrs Jean, Roberts, Snowdon, Dean, Gentle, and Ms Burgess FOR Mr McKinley: Messrs McKinley, Dent, Harris and Earl

Item IV Appointment of Auditors

The States of Alderney resolved to appoint KPMG Channel Islands Limited to be the States' Auditors for 2019.

Approved unanimously

Item V Appointment of Committee Chairmen

The States resolved to appoint the Chairmen of the following Committees:-

Mr Dent as Chairman of the Policy and Finance Committee

Mr Dent was proposed by Mr McKinley Mr Jean was proposed by Mr Snowdon Approved by a majority:-FOR Mr Dent: Messrs Roberts, McKinley, Dent, Gentle, Harris, Earl and Ms Burgess FOR Mr Jean: Messrs Jean, Snowdon and Dean

Mr McKinley as Chairman of the General Services Committee

Mr McKinley was proposed by Mr Dent Mr Dean was proposed by Mr Jean Approved by a majority:-FOR Mr McKinley: Messrs Roberts, McKinley, Dent, Gentle, Harris, Earl and Ms Burgess FOR Mr Dean: Messrs Jean, Snowdon and Dean

Mr Dean as Chairman of the Building and Development Control Committee. *Proposed by Mr Snowdon Approved unanimously*

Item VI Appointment of Members of the Policy and Finance Committee

The States resolved to appoint all ten Members to sit on the Policy and Finance Committee

Mr Jean Mr Roberts Mr McKinley Mr Dent Mr Snowdon Mr Dean Mr Gentle Ms Burgess Mr Harris Mr Earl

Approved unanimously

Item VII Appointment of Committee Members of other Committees

The States resolved to appoint the members of the following Committees:-

1. Five members to the General Services Committee:-

Mr Harris proposed by Mr Snowdon, approved unanimously Mr Gentle proposed by Mr Snowdon, approved unanimously Ms Burgess proposed by Mr Earl, approved unanimously Mr Roberts proposed by Mr McKinley, approved unanimously Mr Dean proposed by Mr Snowdon, approved by a majority (Messrs McKinley and Dent against)

2. Three members to the Building and Development Control Committee

Mr Earl proposed by Mr Snowdon Mr Gentle proposed by Mr Snowdon Mr Snowdon proposed by Mr Dean

Approved unanimously

Item VIII Other Appointments: Commonwealth Parliamentary Association

The States resolved to elect the following three members to sit on the Management Committee in the affairs of the Alderney Branch of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association (the President being Ex-officio Chairman):-

Ms Burgess proposed by Mr Earl, approved by majority (Mr Roberts voted for Mr Roberts) **Mr Dent** proposed by Mr Snowdon, approved unanimously

Mr McKinley proposed by Mr Dent, approved by a majority (Messrs Jean voted for Mr Roberts)

Mr Roberts was proposed by Mr Snowdon but was unsuccessful

Item IX Other Appointments: Code of Conduct Panel Members

The States of Alderney resolved to approve that the five persons listed below be confirmed as Members of the States Members Code of Conduct Review Panel until the next Annual January Meeting of the States of Alderney.

Mr Peter Allen Mr Peter Cunningham Mrs Helen McGregor Mr William Tate Mr Matthew Birmingham Approved by a majority (Mr Dean voted against)

Item X Other Appointments:- St Anne's School Management Committee

The States resolved to appoint Mr Gentle as a Representative on the Management Committee of St Anne's School until the next Annual January Meeting of the States of Alderney.

Proposed by Mr Snowdon, approved unanimously

<u>Item XI</u> <u>Election of Alderney Representatives to sit in the Guernsey States of</u> <u>Deliberation</u>

Following the procedure as laid out in the Resolution of The States of Alderney dated 18th October 2006, and the Plebiscite election of 17th December 2018, the States of Alderney resolved:-

(a) To elect the following two members to sit in the Guernsey States of Deliberation for 2019:-

Mr Roberts Mr Snowdon Approved unanimously

and

(b) To elect the following two members to sit in the Guernsey States of Deliberation as Alternative Representatives for 2019:-

Mr Earl Mr McKinley Approved unanimously

Item XII The Sanctions (Bailiwick of Guernsey) Law, 2018

The States of Alderney resolved to approve "The Sanctions (Bailiwick of Guernsey) Law, 2018" and to authorise the Bailiff to present a most humble petition to Her Majesty praying for Her Royal Sanction thereto.

Proposed by Mr Dent and seconded by Mr Roberts Approved unanimously

Item XIII The Customs and Cross-Border Trade (General and Enabling Provisions) (Bailiwick of Guernsey) Law, 2018

The States of Alderney resolved to approve "The Customs and Cross-Border Trade (General and Enabling Provisions) (Bailiwick of Guernsey) Law, 2018" and to authorise the Bailiff to present a most humble petition to Her Majesty praying for Her Royal Sanction thereto.

Proposed by Mr Dent and seconded by Mr Gentle Approved unanimously

Item XIV Questions and Reports

No Questions or Reports were received.

Meeting Closed: 1840hrs

Issued: 11th January 2019