

Price: £2.30

STATES OF ALDERNEY

BILLET D'ETAT

FOR WEDNESDAY 15TH MAY 2019

Members of the States:

I have the honour to inform you that the Meeting of the States will be held at 5:30 pm on Wednesday 15th May 2019. This will be preceded by the People's Meeting, which will be held on Wednesday 8th May 2019 at 7:00 pm in the Island Hall.

W Stuart Trought President

Item I Alderney Commission for Renewable Energy: Appointment of Commissioners

The following letter was received from Mr Dent, Chairman of the Policy and Finance Committee

"The Alderney Commission for Renewable Energy (ACRE) was established under the Renewable Energy (Alderney) Law 2007 in order to regulate renewable energy production. ACRE is a body corporate and may carry out the functions conferred on it in the Renewable Energy (Alderney) Law 2007. The Law makes it clear that ACRE is not a Committee of the States of Alderney, although the States may give guidance or directions to ACRE "of a general character." ACRE must prepare annual accounts which must be laid before the States of Alderney. The Commission must consist of a Chairman and no fewer than two Commissioners (and a maximum of four) who are remunerated.

ACRE was originally funded through the block fees received from Alderney Renewable Energy Ltd (ARE). When block fee payments were ceased, ACRE's financial reserves were paid over to the States of Alderney who then indemnified ACRE to cover the cost of legal fees and operating costs while it pursued the legal case against ARE.

The settlement of the legal case against ARE and the limited prospects of tidal renewable energy developments taking place in the near future called into question the need for the Commission to operate at its current level. Nevertheless, there are some important functions which either require ACRE's continuing operation or transfer of the functions to another body.

The Policy and Finance Committee at its meeting of 9th January 2019 resolved to reduce the Commission to consist of a Chairman and two other Commissioners (the statutory minimum); that notice be given to the existing Commissioners as required under their contracts and recommended that the two Commissioner posts be filled by States of Alderney Civil Servants to discharge the basic functions of the Commission.

On the 16th April 2019 Policy & Finance Committee recommended the appointment of a third temporary commissioner from the Civil Service and to commence a process to seek a permanent replacement of the Chairman.

It was noted that if and when new licensing work is required, new appointments to the Commissioner posts can be made. The Civil Service appointees are temporary appointments in order to discharge the responsibilities of the Commission in the short term and no remuneration is required which will ensure that the costs are low during the temporary period. The reduced ACRE activity will not require office accommodation and any documentation or assets will be stored securely by the States of Alderney and made accessible to the Commissioners, together with any meeting facilities they require.

At its meeting of 16th April 2019 Policy and Finance Committee resolved to recommend to the States the appointment of Mr Paul Veron and Mrs Elizabeth Maurice as Members of the Commission in accordance with the provisions of section 6 of the Renewable Energy (Alderney) Law, 2007, together with a third temporary commissioner from the civil service and it is recommended that this should be Mr Andrew Muter. I will be obliged if this is placed before the States at its next meeting together with an appropriate proposition.

Mr J Dent, Chairman"

Committee Meeting Attendees:-

Mr J Dent, Chairman Mr D Earl, Deputy Chair Ms A Burgess Mr M Dean Mr K Gentle Mr C Harris Mr L Jean Mr G McKinley OBE Mr S Roberts Mr A Snowdon

The States of Alderney is asked to approve, on the recommendation of the Policy and Finance Committee and in accordance with section 6 of the Renewable Energy (Alderney) Law, 2007, the appointment of Mr Paul Veron, Mrs Elizabeth Maurice and Mr Andrew Muter as Members of the Alderney Commission for Renewable Energy.

Item II Questions and Reports

Issued: 3rd May 2019