The official website for the States of Alderney


The President is elected for a four-year term and is also the chairman of the States of Alderney. 

Under the 2004 Government of Alderney Law the President of Alderney ranks after a member of the Royal Family (or a person directly representing the Sovereign), His Excellency the Lieutenant-Governor (or a person directly representing him) and the Bailiff of Guernsey.

The President also holds the right to vote in the States of Alderney; however, this is only used to make the deciding vote in the event of a tied vote.

The next election for President will be in 2024.

  • Current President 

    • William-Tate

      Elected to Office 21 June 2019
      Re-elected 14 November 2020 for a four year term (ending 31 Dec 2024)


      Telephone: 01481 820001

    • William originally qualified as a solicitor in 1978 in Leeds, eventually establishing his own specialist legal practice. He was subsequently called to the Bar and practiced on the North Eastern Circuit. Over the years he has chaired or sat on numerous committees of professional bodies and charitable organisations, both in the UK and on Alderney.

    • William was appointed as Alderney's first Land Use Plan Inspector at the inception of the new Land Use Plan process in 1999, in order to provide a framework for developing policy in relation to the use of the island's assets. William is married to Gabrielle, a Chartered Accountant, and has lived on the island since 1996.

  • Responsibilities 

    • The President's role is equivalent/similar to the Speaker of the UK House of Commons.  He chairs a monthly States Meeting and ensures correct constitutional procedures are followed.  It is his job to help the political process run smoothly.  He also acts as an ambassador, representing the island on diplomatic matters and meet visiting dignitaries. 

  • Positions

    • The President also holds the following positions:

      • Chairman of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association (CPA)

      • Trustee and Chairman of The Alderney Maritime Trust (AMT)

      • Trustee of the ME Cheape Charitable Trust

      • Trustee of St Anne's Trust

      • Trustee of the Mary Roylance Mignot Memorial Hospital Trust

      • Trustee of Interest on Investments Fund

      • Patron of the Alderney Cancer Relief Trust

      • Guardian of the Alderney Foundation