The official website for the States of Alderney

Press Release - All change as States of Alderney appoints new chairmen - 12.01.23

Media Release Date: 12 th January 2023 Issued: 1130hrs All change as States of Alderney appoints new chairmen.

Alderney's new senior politician is former PWC partner Nigel Vooght who was elected Chairman of the Policy & Finance Committee (P&F) when the full States held its annual meeting on January 11.

He replaces Ian Carter who stood down after seven months in the post although he will continue to serve on all of the States' committees. Mr Carter stepped in when P&F Chairman Bill Abel resigned last year for health reasons.

Members thanked Mr Carter for overseeing a number of major projects including the Island Plan and spearheading a united campaign to rejuvenate Alderney Airport. Mr Vooght thanked fellow Members for their support and said his three main priorities would be to help bring the Island Plan alive for the community, working with the other 2 committee chairs to promote Alderney's economy and building a closer relationship with Guernsey.

"The recent decision to extend the Airport runway is an important part of driving our economy forward by working together in close co-operation with Guernsey," he said. Other Chairs appointed are Lin Maurice (General Services Committee), Kevin Gentle (Building & Development Control) and Alex Snowdon who takes charge of Economic Development (EDC) which has now been elevated to full committee status. Mr Snowdon said of his role at EDC: "With a new mandate, this committee has a vital part to play in job creation, promoting tourism and creating new business opportunities. We are mindful of the fact that the airport development will create 20,000 extra seats for passengers and can only expand the opportunity for commuters, visitors and the community."

Other appointments included Steve Roberts, one of the two Alderney Representatives at the Guernsey States of Deliberation, as Vice President, and Ian Carter to the St Anne's School Management Committee. Mr Carter was also appointed to the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association along with Lin Maurice and Bruce Woodhead, and also to the Alderney Care Board along with Boyd Kelly.

Mr Roberts and Mr Snowdon were confirmed as the Alderney Representatives in Guernsey following last month's plebiscite election. The appointments were made by the nine sitting Members who also confirmed a byelection for the one vacant seat will take place on Saturday February 18th with nominations to be received during the seven days ending at 4pm on Friday February 3rd.

The Polling Station is in the Island Hall in Royal Connaught Square and will be open for voting on Election Day between 9.30am and 6.30pm. In one of his last acts as P&F Chairman, Mr Carter appealed to members of the community who want to demonstrate their commitment to public service to come forward as candidates in a contested election.

Ends Note to editors: Pictured: Nigel Vooght. For hi res images of the above or for further information, please contact Alistair Forrest,